Group Stuff Physics MRL MRL
Members Research Publications Contact

Current members

Dale Van Harlingen
dvh@illinois.edu
Principal Investigator
Gilbert Arias
grarias2@illinois.edu
Graduate Student
Guang Yue
gyue@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Researcher
Jessica Montone
montone2@illinois.edu
Graduate Student
Farzaneh Hoveyda Marashi
faren@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Researcher
Drew Wild
dgwild2@illinois.edu
Graduate Student

Past members

David Hamilton  
Ph.D. 2018, "Exploring exotic superconducting order in La-based cuprate materials using Josephson interferometry" Intel, Portland, OR
drhamil2@illinois.edu
Kenneth Schlax  
Ph.D. 2019, "Pyrochlore Spin Ice Dysprosium Titanate: Investigating a Platform for Monopole Quasiparticles" Melbourne, AUS
schlax2@illinois.edu
Erik Huemiller  
Ph.D. 2018, "Probing Proximity Induced Superconductivity in Nb-Bi2Se3 Bilayers with Low-temperature Transport and Josephson Interferometry" Senior Research Scientist, Inprentus, Champaign, IL
huemill2@illinois.edu
Can Zhang  
Ph.D. 2018, "Investigation of current-phase relation in topological insulator Josephson junction" Industrial Scientist, Intel, Portland, OR
czhang14@illinois.edu
Adam Weis  
Ph.D. 2017, "Resistance fluctuation spectroscopy and other transport behavior in lanthanum barium copper oxide" NIST Boulder, Boulder, CO
weis2@illinois.edu
Chris Nugroho  
Ph.D. 2015, "Low frequency critical current noise and two level system defects in Josephson junctions" Intel, Portland, OR
chris.nugroho@gmail.com
Juan Atkinson  
Ph.D. 2014, "Probing the superconducting order parameter of Iron-based superconductors through the Josephson effect" ZEISS Microscopy, Portland, OR
juan.atkinson@gmail.com
Martin Stehno  
Ph.D. 2013, "Investigations of nonlocal transport and current noise in mesoscopic normal metal-superconductor hybrid structures" Postdoctoral Researcher, University of W├╝rzburg
mstehno.work@gmail.com
Mark Wistrom  
Ph.D. 2012, "Imaging vortices in superconducting weakly coupled arrays" Amazon, Palo Alto, CA
mwistrom@gmail.com
Dan Bahr  
Ph.D. 2011, "Probing the chiral domain structure and dynamics in SR2RUO4 with nanoscale Josephson junctions" Intel, Portland, OR
bahr.dj@gmail.com
Joel Strand  
Ph.D. 2010, "Determining the superconducting order parameter of UPt3 with Josephson junction interferometry" Northrup-Grumman, Baltimore, MD
joel.strand@gmail.com
Micah Stoutimore  
Ph.D. 2009, "Non-Sinusoidal Current -Phase Relations in Superconductor-Ferromagnet-Superconductor Josephson Junctions" Northrup-Grumman, Baltimore, MD
micah.stoutimore@gmail.com
Madalina Colci-O’Hara  
Ph.D. 2009, "Investigations of Crossed Andreev Reflection in Hybrid Superconductor-Ferromagnet Structures" Institute for Defense Analyses, Washington, DC
mcolci@gmail.com
David Caplan  
Ph.D. 2009, "Electronic Noise Studies of Underdoped High Temperature Superconductors" Black Rock Financials, London, UK
david.caplan@blackrock.com
Francoise Kidwingira  
Ph.D. 2007, "Superconducting Order Parameter Domains in Sr2RuO4 Probed by Josephson Interferometry" Research Scientist, DCG Systems, Richardson, TX
fkidwingira@gmail.com
Trevis Crane  
Ph.D. 2005, "Low-frequency 1/F Noise: Low Temperature Measurements and Effect on Superconducting Qubit Dephasing" Systems Engineer, Northrop Grumman Corporation, Chicago, IL
trevis.crane@ngc.com
Sergey Frolov  
Ph.D. 2005, "Current-Phase Relations of Josephson Junctions with Ferromagnetic Barriers" Assistant Professor of Physics, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
frolovsm@pitt.edu
Tony Bonetti  
Ph.D. 2002, "Fabrication and Electronic Transport Properties of Underdoped High Temperature Superconductor Nanowires" Engineering Manager, Finistart Corporation, Sunnyvale, CA
joseph.bonetti@yahoo.com
William Neils  
Ph.D. 2002, "Josephson
Interferometry Measurements in High-Tc Grain Boundary
Junctions
"
Physicist, Quantum Design Inc,
San Diego, CA
wneils@qdusa.com
Adele Ruosi  
visiting researcher 2001-02 Researcher, University of Naples, Italy
Adele.Ruosi@na.infn.it
Kevin Osborn
Ph.D. 2001, "Superfluid Density Measurements of the Superconducting Phase Transition in Epitaxially-Grown BSCCO-2212 Films" Industrial Scientist, Laboratory for Physical Sciences, College Park, MD
osborn@lps.umd.edu
Joseph Hilliard
Ph.D. 2001, "Conductivity and interferometry experiments on YBCO/Pb ramp-edge Josephson junctions" Senior Manufacturing Engineer, Raytheon, Tewksbury, MA
joseph_hilliard@raytheon.com
Britton Plourde
Ph.D. 2000, "Vortex distributions and dynamics in superconductor near surface and sample edges studied by SSM and critical current measurements" Professor of Physics, Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY
bplourde@syr.edu
Brian Yanoff
Ph.D. 2000, "Temperature Dependence of the Low Temperature Penetration Depth in the Unconventional Superconductor Sr2RuO4" Research Scientist, General Electric, Schenectady, NY
yanoff@crd.ge.com
David Wollman
Ph.D. 1996, "Experimental determination of the symmetry of the superconducting pairing state in YBCO" Staff Scientist, NIST, Gaithersburg, MD
wollman@nist.gov
Stuart Tessmer
Ph.D. 1995, "Quasiparticle bound states in normal metal/superconductor structures probed by scanning tunneling microscopy" Associate Professor of Physics, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI
tessmer@pa.msu.edu 
Joe Walko
Ph.D. 1995, "Photon-induced vortex-antivortex pair creation in superconducting films" Industrial Scientist, IBM, Burlington, VT
joswalko@us.ibm.com
Subashri Rao
Ph.D. 1994, "Effect of disorder on the vortex dynamics in superconducting Josephson junction arrays and clusters' Goal Alignment Generalist, Nestle, Baltimore, MD
sv24rao@yahoo.com
Ralph Schweinfurth
Ph.D. 1994, "Growth, fabrication, and measurements of superconducting BKBO thin films and devices" Industrial Scientist,
Intel, San Jose, CA
ralph.a.schweinfurth@intel.com
Jui Tien
Ph.D. 1994, "Current-voltage characteristics of linear chains of submicron Josephson Tunnel junctions" Industrial Scientist,
Intel, San Jose, CA
Lan Vu
Ph.D. 1993, "Studies of magnetic vortices in superconductor networks and clusters by scanning SQUID microscopy" CEO, Web Office, Inc., Austin, TX
lanvu@webofficenow.com
Fred Sharifi
Ph.D. 1989, "Thermal activation and macroscopic quantum phenomena in superconducting devices" Staff Scientist, Intellectual Ventures,
Bellevue, WA
fsharifi@intven.com
Gene Hilton
Ph.D. 1989, "Non-equilibrium excitations in superconducting aluminum and high temperature superconducting devices" Staff Scientist, NIST, Boulder, CO
ghilton@boulder.nist.gov
Kendall Springer
Ph.D. 1988, "Phase dynamics and magnetic field response of proximity-coupled superconductor arrays" Staff Scientist, Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, NM
kendall@lanl.gov 
Ron Wakai
Ph.D. 1987, "Fluctuations in dc SQUIDs: quantum noise effects, low frequency noise, and single electron trapping" Associate Professor of Medical Physics, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI
wakai@macc.wisc.edu

DVH Research Group, 1996-2014
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign